Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

Search Collections

Private Conservator Directory

This list does not imply any professional endorsement by the Conservation Department of the Harry Ransom Center or the University of Texas.

Contact the American Institute of Conservation at the following address for a list of other conservators in your region. The names of the members of the AIC, included in this directory, are marked by an *.

American Institute for Conservation
1156 15th Street, N.W. Suite 320
Washington, D.C. 20005-1714
(202) 452-9545 fax: (202) 452-9328
email: info@conservation-us.org
website: www.conservation-us.org

Download PDF version of this directory

BOOKS

* Lysa Allen, Phoenix Restoration
Austin, Texas
(512) 217-2548
email: lallen523@grandecom.net
book and paper conservator

Jace Graf, Cloverleaf Studio Inc.
Austin, Texas
(512) 494-9596
email: jace@cloverleafstudio.com
book binding, box making, portfolios, post bindings, book design

Wendy Hale Davis
Austin, Texas
(512) 294-9035
email: worldbridger@earthlink.net
conservation and restoration of books, fine binding, box making

* Rebecca Elder
Austin, Texas
(512) 699-3494
email: rebeccaelder@austin.rr.com
book and manuscript conservation, box making, surveys, consulting

* Craig Jensen
BookLab II
San Marcos, Texas
(512) 392-2363
email: craig@bookways.com
box and portfolio making, limited edition binding, and binding structure design

* Olivia Primanis
Austin, Texas
(512) 371-1806
email: primanis@mail.utexas.edu
consulting, preservation and conservation of books

* April Smith
Booksmith
Austin, Texas
(512) 693-BOOK (2665)
email: apsmith926@att.net
book & manuscript conservation, box making, surveys, consulting

Sabina Daly
Book Mender
Austin, Texas
(512) 554-4380
email: sabina@bookmender.us
book repair and restoration, paper mending, book and paper housings

Julie Sullivan
Dancing Cat Bindery
Austin, Texas
(214) 987-2234 (cell)
email: julie@dancingcatbindery.com
book binding, book repair, box making

PAPER AND PHOTOGRAPHS

* Heather Hamilton
Austin, Texas
(617) 849-4580
email: hhamilton@outlook.com
consultation, preservation and conservation of works of art on paper, documents, prints, maps, posters, paper ephemera, manuscripts, works on parchment

* Cheryl A. Carrabba
Carrabba Conservation, Inc.
Austin, Texas 78729
(512) 452-5880 fax: (512) 452-6112
email: conservation@austin.rr.com
preservation and conservation of art on paper and archives collections, matting & framing, minor repair of photographic material, consulting

* Corinne Dune
San Marcos, Texas
(512) 738-7735
email: cxdune@gmail.com
preservation and conservation of photographs

* Ken Grant
Grant Conservation Services
Wimberley, Texas
(512) 922-5287
email: kmg65102@gmail.com
preservation and conservation of works of art on paper

* Karen Pavelka / Lecturer
University of Texas School of Information
Austin, Texas
(512) 471-8286 fax: (512) 471-8285
email: pavelka@ischool.utexas.edu
preservation education and public lectures, preservation and conservation of paper, books and archives collections, consulting

* Tish Brewer
The Center for Art Conservation
Dallas, Texas
(214) 827-0200
email: tish@centerforartconservation.com
conservation of works of art on paper, prints, maps, posters, paper ephemera, manuscripts, works on related supports such as parchment, on-site consultation

TEXTILES

* Melanie D. Sanford
Textile Preservation Services of Texas
Allen, Texas
(214) 995-0696
email: info@conservingthreads.com
preservation and conservation of tapestries, quilts, flags, banners, historic costume, wedding gowns, consultation and survey of textile collections, emergency preparedness and disaster recovery

OBJECTS

* Kenn Darity
Art Restorations, Inc.
Dallas, Texas
(214) 350-0811, fax:(214) 350-3485
email: info@artrestinc.com
Decorative Objects, Wooden Artifacts

* Cher Goodson
Art Restorations, Inc.
Dallas, Texas
(214) 350-0811, fax:(214) 350-3485
email: info@artrestinc.com
Painting, Decorative Objects, Wooden Artifacts

* Steve Pine
Decorative Arts Conservation
Sugarland (Houston area), Texas
(281) 546-7059
email: spine2@comcast.net
conservation and restoration of furniture, 17th-21st century specialty. Consultation on creation of disaster plans.

* Brad Ford Smith
Studio Six Art Conservation
Dallas, Texas
(972) 415-1486
email: brad_studiosix@yahoo.com
conservation of historic objects: furniture, boxes, polychrome, ethnographics, wood, lacquer, marquetry, ivory, ceramics, consultation, and collection surveys

* Wesley Sorenson
Conservation Arts Group
Dallas, Texas
(214) 298-9913
email: wessorensen@sbcglobal.net
works of: Metal, Glass, Wood, Fired Clay, Synthetic - Historic Paint Analysis, Gilding, Outdoor Sculpture

* Julie Unruh
Julie Unruh, LLC
Austin, TX
(512) 843-2123
email: j.unruh@outlook.com
conservation of sculpture, historic objects, archaeological objects, ethnographic objects, collections surveys and preservation consulting

* Catherine Williams
Silver Lining Art Conservation, LLC
Austin, Texas
(512) 695-3260
email: cwilliams@fineartfixer.com
consultation, preservation and conservation of objects

PAINTINGS

* Carlos Espinosa
Las Negras Studio
Dallas, Texas
(214) 871-0410 fax:(214) 871-1027
email: lasnegras@clear.net
conservation and restoration of paintings and gilded frames

* Helen Houp
Helen Houp Fine Art Conservation
Dallas, Texas
(214) 366-4700 fax: (214) 366-4740
email: helen@pixfix.org
conservation of paintings, murals, modern paintings, paper, and photographs, on site surveys of collections, full range photography, and consultation

* Mark E. van Gelder
Art Conservation Services of Austin
Austin, Texas
(512) 458-9809
email: mark_vg@sbcglobal.net
preservation and restoration of paintings, murals, period frames, and painted historic surfaces; conservation assessment, and consulting

* Jill Whitten and Rob Proctor
Whitten & Proctor Fine Art Conservation
Houston, Texas
(713) 426-0191
email: wp@whittenandproctor.com
conservation and preservation of traditional and modern paintings, frames and murals, examination for loans or purchase, consulting, conservation assessments and on site surveys

* Anne Zanikos
Anne Zanikos Art Conservation
San Antonio, Texas
(210) 828-1925
email: azanikos@yahoo.com
preservation and conservation of paintings, frames, polychrome wood objects

* Richard Trela, Trela Fine Art Conservation
Canyon, Texas
(806) 655-5630
email: rtrela@suddenlink.net
conservation of paintings, murals, decorative objects
environmental management, preventative conservation, survey treatment assessment

CONSERVATION CONSULTING

* Sandra Blackard
Round Rock, Texas
(512) 388-9545 (phone/fax)
e-mail: sandyblackard@gmail.com
art conservation consultant, assessments