Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

Search Collections

Tours

Tours offer an in-depth guided experience of the current exhibitions and the Gutenberg Bible and the First Photograph, which are on permanent display at the Ransom Center. The public tours meet in the lobby and no reservations are required. For groups larger than 10 people, please contact the Ransom Center to make arrangements for a private group tour.

Admission and tours are free. Your donation supports the Ransom Center's exhibitions and public programs.



Docent Led Gallery Tours

April 2014
Tuesday, April 1, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, April 3, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 5, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, April 6, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 8, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, April 10, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 12, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, April 13, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 15, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, April 17, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 19, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, April 20, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 22, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, April 24, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 26, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, April 27, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 29, Public Tour at noon

May 2014
Thursday, May 1, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 3, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, May 4, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 6, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, May 8, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 10, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, May 11, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 13, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, May 15, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 17, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, May 18, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 20, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, May 22, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 24, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, May 25, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 27, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, May 29, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 31, Public Tours at 2 p.m.

June 2014
Sunday, June 1, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, June 3, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, June 5, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, June 7, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, June 8, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, June 10, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, June 12, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, June 14, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, June 15, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, June 17, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, June 19, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, June 21, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, June 22, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, June 24, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, June 26, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, June 28, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, June 29, Public Tour at 2 p.m.

July 2014
Tuesday, July 1, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, July 3, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 5, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, July 6, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 8, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, July 10, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 12, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, July 13, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 15, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, July 17, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 19, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, July 20, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 22, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, July 24, Public Tour at 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 26, Public Tours at 2 p.m.
Sunday, July 27, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 29, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, July 31, Public Tour at 6 p.m.

August 2014
Saturday, August 2, Public Tour at 2 p.m.
Sunday, August 3, Public Tour at 2 p.m.


Private Group Tours

For groups larger than 10 people, please contact the Center to make arrangements for a private group tour.

To schedule a prearranged tour or to alert Ransom Center staff of your visit, click here for a tour request form or contact Lisa Pulsifer, Academic Programs Associate, at 512-475-8086 or hrctours@austin.utexas.edu.

Tours can be scheduled to take place between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. on Tuesdays through Fridays, and between noon and 5 p.m. on weekends.

Teachers: please view the useful education resources online at the Primary Source Education Modules page.

Procedures

Please contact the Ransom Center's public programs staff at least two weeks in advance to schedule a tour and clarify any questions you might have. The Center may not be able to accommodate unannounced groups.

The Center's docent staff is prepared to enrich group tours and visitor experiences. Should you prefer to make a group visit without the help of a docent, please inform the Center's staff. If capacity becomes an issue, scheduled groups take precedence over unscheduled groups.

Guidelines for tours

  • Please allow 1 hour for your visit.
  • Be sure to arrive on time. The Ransom Center may not be able to provide full tours to groups that arrive late. In some cases, the Center cannot guarantee admission.
  • Cancellations: Please contact the Center's public programs staff at least a week in advance to cancel. The Center's docents are volunteers, who take time out of their schedules to guide groups through the exhibitions. Please be considerate of their time if you need to cancel. Providing advance notice of cancellations may also give another group the opportunity to visit.
  • The Ransom Center can accommodate tour groups up to 40 people. If your group is larger than 40, the Center's staff is prepared to offer logistical suggestions for your visit.
  • It is very important that there be one adult for every ten students.

On Arrival:

If your group arrives and a Ransom Center representative isn't there to greet you, please have your group wait on the bus or in the Ransom Center's outdoor plaza while a member of your group enters the building to announce your arrival.

Your Ransom Center representative will confirm the number of visitors and review procedures with you. Groups of over 25 will likely be split into two groups.

The Ransom Center does not have a parking facility. There are public and private parking resources within a short distance of the Ransom Center. Groups with buses are advised to load and unload on the 21st Street side of the building; buses must then depart and return later to pick up the group.

Gallery Behavior for students (and adults)

  • Docents are experienced at what they do. They are also volunteers, and their time is valuable. Please respect your docent, stay close, and pay attention.
  • Your docent has been given the mandate to teach while your group is under his or her guidance. Unruly behavior will not be tolerated.
  • Self-guided groups must adhere to the same considerations. Please allow guided groups the right-of-way in the galleries.

Remember:

  • No food, drink, or gum is allowed in the galleries.
  • Turn off all cellular phones while in the galleries.
  • No pens are allowed in the galleries. Please use pencils.
  • Keep a safe distance between you and works of art to avoid accidental contact and damage.
  • Backpacks, large bags, and umbrellas must be checked at the guard desk in the lobby.
  • Walk; don't run.

Map

A map of the Ransom Center's location is available here.

Directions and Parking

Directions and parking information are available here.

Delve deeper into the Ransom Center's collections and programs. Become a member today.
Become a fan
View Calendar PDF

View or download PDF version of the events calendar.

Spring 2013 Events (PDF)

Please be aware that Ransom Center events may be photographed and/or filmed. Your attendance constitutes your authorization for the Center to use your photograph, voice, or other likeness for purposes related to the mission of the Ransom Center, including but not limited to marketing and promotion in both print and electronic forms.

Connect with the
Harry Ransom Center
Flickr YouTube RSS Audio Facebook Twitter
eNews

Stay up to date with the Ransom Center's latest news and events with eNews, the Center's free monthly electronic newsletter.

Subscribe to eNews

View Past Issues