Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup
Search Collections

Tours

Tours offer an in-depth guided experience of the current exhibitions and the Gutenberg Bible and the First Photograph, which are on permanent display at the Ransom Center. The public tours meet in the South Atrium and no reservations are required. For groups larger than 10 people, please contact the Ransom Center to make arrangements for a private group tour.

Admission and tours are free. Your donation supports the Ransom Center's exhibitions and public programs.



Docent Led Gallery Tours

November 2014
Monday, November 17, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, November 18, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, November 19, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, November 20, Public Tours at noon and 6 p.m.
Friday, November 21, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, November 22, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, November 23, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Monday, November 24, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, November 25, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, November 26, Public Tour at noon
Note: The Harry Ransom Center will be closed on November 27
Friday, November 28, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, November 29, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, November 30, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.

December 2014
Monday, December 1, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, December 2, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, December 3, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, December 4, Public Tours at noon and 6 p.m.
Friday, December 5, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, December 6, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, December 7, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Monday, December 8, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, December 9, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, December 10, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, December 11, Public Tours at noon and 6 p.m.
Friday, December 12, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, December 13, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, December 14, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Monday, December 15, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, December 16, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, December 17, Public Tour at noon
Thursday, December 18, Public Tours at noon and 6 p.m.
Friday, December 19, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, December 20, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, December 21, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Monday, December 22, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, December 23, Public Tour at noon
Note: The Harry Ransom Center will be closed on December 24 and 25
Friday, December 26, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, December 27, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, December 28, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Monday, December 29, Public Tour at noon
Tuesday, December 30, Public Tour at noon
Wednesday, December 31, Public Tour at noon

January 2015
Thursday, January 1, Public Tours at noon and 6 p.m.
Friday, January 2, Public Tour at noon
Saturday, January 3, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.
Sunday, January 4, Public Tours at noon and 2 p.m.


Private Group Tours

For groups larger than 10 people, please contact the Center to make arrangements for a private group tour.

To schedule a prearranged tour or to alert Ransom Center staff of your visit, click here for a tour request form or contact Lisa Pulsifer, Academic Programs Associate, at 512-475-8086 or hrctours@austin.utexas.edu.

Tours can be scheduled to take place between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. on Monday through Friday, and between noon and 5 p.m. on weekends.

Teachers: please view the useful education resources online at the Primary Source Education Modules page.

Procedures

Please contact the Ransom Center's public programs staff at least two weeks in advance to schedule a tour and clarify any questions you might have. The Center may not be able to accommodate unannounced groups.

The Center's docent staff is prepared to enrich group tours and visitor experiences. Should you prefer to make a group visit without the help of a docent, please inform the Center's staff. If capacity becomes an issue, scheduled groups take precedence over unscheduled groups.

Guidelines for tours

  • Please allow 1 hour for your tour.
  • Plan to arrive 10 minutes before your tour is scheduled to begin. A docent will meet your group in the south atrium of our lobby and begin promptly at your designated tour time. If your group arrives more than 15 minutes after your designated start time we cannot guarantee a docent-led tour, but you can certainly tour our exhibitions independently. Our tours are tightly scheduled and our docents are volunteers, so your attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.
  • Cancellations: Please contact the Center's public programs staff at least a week in advance to cancel. The Center's docents are volunteers, who take time out of their schedules to guide groups through the exhibitions. Please be considerate of their time if you need to cancel. Providing advance notice of cancellations may also give another group the opportunity to visit. If you have a last minute cancellation or will be late for your tour please call our main number 512-471-8944. Note, this phone line is not answered on weekends.
  • The Ransom Center can accommodate tour groups up to 40 people. If your group is larger than 40, the Center's staff is prepared to offer logistical suggestions for your visit.
  • It is very important that there be one adult for every ten students.

On Arrival:

Please meet your docent in the south atrium of our lobby.

Your Ransom Center representative will confirm the number of visitors and review procedures with you. Groups of over 25 will likely be split into two groups.

The Ransom Center does not have a parking facility. There are public and private parking resources within a short distance of the Ransom Center. Groups with buses are advised to load and unload on the 21st Street side of the building; buses must then depart and return later to pick up the group.

Gallery Behavior for students (and adults)

  • Docents are experienced at what they do. They are also volunteers, and their time is valuable. Please respect your docent, stay close, and pay attention.
  • Your docent has been given the mandate to teach while your group is under his or her guidance. Unruly behavior will not be tolerated.
  • Self-guided groups must adhere to the same considerations. Please allow guided groups the right-of-way in the galleries.

Remember:

  • No food, drink, or gum is allowed in the galleries.
  • Turn off all cellular phones while in the galleries.
  • No pens are allowed in the galleries. Please use pencils.
  • Keep a safe distance between you and works of art to avoid accidental contact and damage.
  • Backpacks, large bags, and umbrellas must be checked at the guard desk in the lobby.
  • Walk; don't run.

Map

A map of the Ransom Center's location is available here.

Directions and Parking

Directions and parking information are available here.

Receive the most up-to-date information about The Making of Gone With The Wind, as well as our monthly eNews.

First name *

Last name *

Email address *

Zip code *

Yes, sign me up for eNews - A monthly newsletter that provides the latest news and happenings at the Harry Ransom Center

Yes, sign me up for the Harry Ransom Center's monthly email newsletter, specifically for information about The Making of Gone With The Wind.

Give the Gift of Membership
Delve deeper into the Ransom Center's collections and programs. Become a member today.
Become a fan
View Calendar PDF

View or download PDF version of the events calendar.

Spring 2013 Events (PDF)

Please be aware that Ransom Center events may be photographed and/or filmed. Your attendance constitutes your authorization for the Center to use your photograph, voice, or other likeness for purposes related to the mission of the Ransom Center, including but not limited to marketing and promotion in both print and electronic forms.

Connect with the
Harry Ransom Center
Flickr YouTube RSS Audio Facebook Twitter