Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup Blog Video Facebook Twitter Instagram
Fall 2004 Newsletter

Hazzard, Hastings, Greene, Waugh

In connection with the exhibition Writing Among the Ruins: Graham Greene and Evelyn Waugh, the Ransom Center will host two special events featuring acclaimed scholars of the two writers. Selina Hastings, author of Evelyn Waugh: A Biography (1994), and Shirley Hazzard, author of Greene on Capri: A Memoir (2000), will present lectures this fall.

British writer Selina Hastings has received critical praise for her biographies of Nancy Mitford, Rosamond Lehmann, and Evelyn Waugh (for which she was awarded the Marsh Biography Prize in 1994). Hastings attended Oxford and later served as the assistant literary editor at the Daily Telegraph (London) from 1968 to 1982, then as literary editor at Harper's & Queen from 1987 to 1995. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and has previously been a Mellon Fellow at the Ransom Center. She is currently working on a biography of W. Somerset Maugham.

Selina Hastings will present a lecture on Evelyn Waugh in the Prothro Theater at the Ransom Center at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, October 6.

Australian-born novelist Shirley Hazzard is the National Book Award winner for The Great Fire (2003), as well as author of several volumes of nonfiction, including Defeat of an Ideal: A Study of the Self-Destruction of the United Nations (1973) and Coming of Age in Australia (1985). Hazzard was educated at Queenwood College in Sydney, later working for British intelligence in Hong Kong in the late 1940s and for the United Nations from 1952 to 1962. Among her novels are The Bay of Noon (1970) and The Transit of Venus (1980), for which she received the National Book Critics Circle Award in 1981.

Shirley Hazzard will talk about Graham Greene in the Prothro Theater at the Ransom Center at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, December 1.

Table of Contents