Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup Blog Video Facebook Twitter Instagram
Spring 2009 Newsletter

2008 Flair Symposium attracts record crowd

Flair panel

Tim O'Brien, Amy Tan, Jim Magnuson, Denis Johnson,
and Lee Blessing at the 2008 Flair Symposium

The 2008 Fleur Cowles Flair Symposium, Creating a Usable Past: Writers, Archives, and Institutions, had its highest attendance ever. The symposium had more than 150 registered attendants, and speakers included writers Amy Tan, Denis Johnson, Tim O'Brien, Lee Blessing, and National Endowment for the Arts Chairman Dana Gioia.

The webcast attracted hundreds of viewers. The opening public event, "Writers on the Future of Reading," and the first day of the symposium each attracted more than 650 viewers.

Table of Contents