Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup Blog Video Facebook Twitter Instagram
Fall 2012 Newsletter

Of Interest

James Salter will receive the 2012 PEN/Malamud Award, which honors excellence in the art of the short story.

Three Ransom Center authors were finalists for the 2012 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction: Russell Banks for Lost Memory of Skin, Don DeLillo for The Angel Esmeralda: Nine Stories, and Anita Desai for The Artist of Disappearance.

Two Ransom Center authors were finalists for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction: Denis Johnson for Train Dreams and David Foster Wallace for his posthumous novel The Pale King.

James Salter's latest novel, All That Is, will be published this spring by Knopf.

Alan Furst's latest novel, Mission to Paris, was published in June by Random House.

The Gernsheim Collection, co-published by the Harry Ransom Center and University of Texas Press, received an Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award, which honors a distinguished catalog in the history of art published during the past year.

University of Texas Press published The Texas Book Two, which contains the chapter "'Harry's Place': A Short History of the Flawn Academic Center" by Associate Director and Hobby Foundation Librarian Richard Oram. The chapter chronicles the history of the Ransom Center and its namesake when it was still housed in Flawn Academic Center.

The archives of Salter, Banks, Johnson, DeLillo, Desai, Wallace, Furst, and Erwitt reside at the Ransom Center.  

Table of Contents