Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup Blog Video Facebook Twitter Instagram

McSweeney's News Release

Notable authors published in McSweeney's Quarterly

Timothy McSweeney's Quarterly Concern started by publishing only works rejected by other magazines. That rule was soon abandoned, and since then McSweeney's has attracted work from some of the finest writers in the country, including Denis Johnson, Jonathan Franzen, William T. Vollmann, Rick Moody, Joyce Carol Oates, Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Michael Chabon, Ben Marcus, Susan Straight, Roddy Doyle, T. C. Boyle, Steven Millhauser, Gabe Hudson, Robert Coover, and Ann Beattie. At the same time, the journal continues to be a major home for new and unpublished writers.

The archive includes:

  • Original, unedited submissions from authors, complete with cover letters and other pre-publication correspondence
  • Multiple drafts showing editorial notes and author revisions
  • Outlines, alternate endings, and deleted fragments
  • Many thousands of unsolicited submissions that were not accepted for publication, but that would offer the ambitious researcher a vast cross-section of contemporary short fiction
  • Some authors published in the Quarterly include:

    Chris Adrian
    Daniel Alarcón
    Sherman Alexie
    Hilton Als
    Jonathan Ames
    Ann Beattie
    Aimee Bender
    Tom Bissell
    Roberto Bolaño
    *T. C. Boyle
    Arthur Bradford
    Judy Budnitz
    Breyten Breytenbach
    Michael Chabon
    Dan Chaon
    Daniel Clowes
    Rachel Cohen
    Paul Collins
    Robert Coover
    R. Crumb
    Rebecca Curtis
    Amanda Davis
    Lydia Davis
    Anthony Doerr
    Roddy Doyle
    Jennifer Egan
    Stephen Elliott
    Harlan Ellison
    Nathan Englander
    Sesshu Foster
    Jonathan Franzen
    Ian Frazier
    Neil Gaiman
    Myla Goldberg
    Ben Greenman
    Daniel Handler
    John Haskell
    Julie Hecht
    Aleksandar Hemon
    Sheila Heti
    John Hodgman
    Nick Hornby
    A. M. Homes
    Gabe Hudson
    Samantha Hunt
    Uzodinma Iweala
    *Denis Johnson
    Tayari Jones
    Heidi Julavits
    Miranda July
    Ben Katchor
    Etgar Keret
    Roy Kesey
    Stephen King
    Adam Levin
    Sam Lipsyte
    Komar & Melamid
    Paul LaFarge
    J. Robert Lennon
    Elmore Leonard
    Jonathan Lethem
    Kelly Link
    Sarah Manguso
    Ben Marcus
    David Means
    Steven Millhauser
    Susan Minot
    Rick Moody
    Haruki Murakami
    Joyce Carol Oates
    Chris Offutt
    Peter Orner
    Daniel Orozco
    Julie Orringer
    E. C. Osondu
    Per Petterson
    Salvador Plascencia
    Padgett Powell
    Nelly Reifler
    Nathaniel Rich
    George Saunders
    Jim Shepard
    Zadie Smith
    Chris Sorrentino
    Gilbert Sorrentino
    Art Spiegelman
    Saul Steinberg
    Susan Straight
    Darin Strauss
    Colm Tóibín
    Wells Tower
    Deb Olin Unferth
    John Updike
    David Vann
    William T. Vollmann
    Sarah Vowell
    *David Foster Wallace
    Lawrence Weschler
    Curtis White
    Edmund White
    Diane Williams
    Joy Williams
    Sean Wilsey

    *Archive held at the Ransom Center


    in Retrospect
    Media Contacts for members of the press

    Jennifer Tisdale
    Director of Public Affairs
    Phone: 512-471-8949
    Cell: 512-921-0845
    Fax: 512-471-9646

    Suzanne Krause
    Public Affairs Representative
    Phone: 512-471-6406
    Cell: 512-348-4055
    Fax: 512-471-9646

    Harry Ransom Center
    The University of Texas at Austin
    P.O. Box 7219
    Austin TX 78713-7219

    Connect with the
    Harry Ransom Center
    Flickr YouTube RSS Tumblr Facebook Twitter