Harry Ransom CenterThe University of Texas at Austin

email signup Blog Video Facebook Twitter Instagram

McSweeney's News Release


The following is a list of honors given to McSweeney's books and periodicals.

National Magazine Award

2007: McSweeney's Quarterly Concern (Fiction)
2010: McSweeney's Quarterly Concern (Fiction)

National Book Award

2009: Dave Eggers (The Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community)

National Book Critics Circle Award

2006: Everything That Rises / Lawrence Weschler (Criticism)
2010: Half a Life / Darin Strauss (Memoir/Autobiography)

AIGA 365 Illustration Award—Certificate of Excellence in Design

2005: How We Are Hungry by Dave Eggers
2005: What is the What by Dave Eggers

50 Books 50 Covers Award

2008: All Known Metal Bands edited by Dan Nelson
2010: McSweeney's Quarterly Issue 36
          Art of McSweeney's
          I Found This Funny edited by Judd Apatow

Print Design Regional Award

2002: Design Excellence, McSweeney's Quarterly, "The Ceiling," by Kevin Brockheimer short story cover
2006: Design Excellence, A Child Again
2007: Certificate of Excellence, Animals in the Ocean
2007: Certificate of Excellence, McSweeney's Issue 19

New York Public Library's Young Lions Award

2010: The Instructions / Adam Levin

Independent Publisher Book Awards

2003: You Shall Know Our Velocity / Dave Eggers (Storyteller of the Year)
2003: McSweeney's Issue 7 (Short Story Fiction)
2004: McSweeney's Issue 11 (Short Story Fiction)
2006: The Believer Book of Writers Talking to Writers (Essay/Creative Nonfiction)
2006: Noisy Outlaws, Unfriendly Blobs, etc. (Juvenile/YA Fiction)
2006: A Child Again / Robert Coover (Storyteller of the Year)
2007: What Is the What / Dave Eggers (General Fiction)
2007: Arboretum / David Byrne (Popular Culture/Leisure)
2008: Bowl of Cherries / Millard Kaufman (Literary Fiction)
2008: McSweeney's Issue 22 (Best Book Arts Craftsmanship)
2010: The End of Major Combat Operations / Nick McDonell (Current Events)
2010: Misadventure / Millard Kaufman (Popular Fiction)

Webby Awards

2006: Official Honoree
2005: Best Copy/Writing Award
2005: People's Voice Award

New York Times Notable Book

2005: How We Are Hungry / Dave Eggers
2007: What is the What / Dave Eggers
2009: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers
2011: Mission Street Food / Anthony Myint and Karen Leibowitz
2011: A Moment in the Sun / John Sayles
2012: How Music Works / David Byrne
2012: A Hologram for the King / Dave Eggers

Los Angeles Times Book Award

2009: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers (Current Interest)

Dayton Literary Peace Prize

2010: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers

Prix Medici

2006: What Is the What / Dave Eggers

Muslim Public Affairs Council's Media Award

2010: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers

Robert F. Kennedy Distinguished Honor

2010: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers

American Book Award

2010: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers

California Legislature Assembly

2004: Literary Excellence, Rising Up and Rising Down by William T. Vollman

Chicago Tribune Best Book

2011: A Moment in the Sun / John Sayles

Entertainment Weekly

End-of-the-decade, "best of" list: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers

Bon Appetit Best Cookbooks

2011: Mission Street Food / Anthony Myint and Karen Leibowitz

Northern California Book Awards

2010: Zeitoun / Dave Eggers (Creative Nonfiction nomination)

Oregon Book Award

2012: Fragile Acts / Allan Peterson

Best of the West

2010: McSweeney's Issue 33 / San Francisco Panorama (Feature Writing, Long Form)
2010: McSweeney's Issue 33 / San Francisco Panorama (Informational Graphic)

Marion Vannett Ridgway Honor Award

2012: Symphony City / Amy Martin


in Retrospect
Media Contacts for members of the press

Jennifer Tisdale
Director of Public Affairs
Phone: 512-471-8949
Cell: 512-921-0845
Fax: 512-471-9646

Harry Ransom Center
The University of Texas at Austin
P.O. Box 7219
Austin TX 78713-7219

Connect with the
Harry Ransom Center
Flickr YouTube RSS Tumblr Facebook Twitter