Skip to Main Content
Harry Ransom Center homepage

News Release — October 17, 2005

Ransom Center Announces Application Process for Research Fellowships

The application process has begun for 2006-2007 research fellowships sponsored by the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center at The University of Texas at Austin.

The deadline for applying is Feb. 1, 2006. Information about the fellowships and the application process is available online.

About 40 fellowships are awarded annually by the Ransom Center to support scholarly research projects in all areas of the humanities. Priority is given to proposals that concentrate on the Center's collections and that require substantial on-site use of them.

All applicants, with the exception of those interested in dissertation fellowships, must be post-doctorates or possess an equivalent terminal degree or substantial record of scholarly achievement. United States citizens and foreign nationals are eligible to apply.

A single application is required for consideration for all of the Center's various fellowships. Because the Center matches scholars with appropriate fellowships, applicants do not need to specify a particular fellowship in which they are interested.

Each year the fellowship program has a special topic. This year's topic is "The Post-War Cultures of 20th-Century America," a theme that corresponds with the Ransom Center's fall 2006 exhibition on Norman Mailer and American culture from 1945 to 1980, and its spring 2007 exhibition on America in the 1920s.

The major wars of the 20th century reshaped American consciousness and left in their wake distinct post-war cultures.

Special consideration will be given to research proposals that address any of these cultures.

The fellowships range from one month to two to four months, with stipends of $3,000 per month. Also available are $1,000 to $1,500 travel stipends and dissertation fellowships with a $1,200 stipend.

The stipends are funded by individual donors and organizations, including the Ransom Center, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Hobby Family Foundation, the Dorot Foundation, American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, South Central Modern Language Association and The University of Texas Office of Graduate Studies.

Awards will be announced by letter on or before April 1, 2006.

Press Room Press Releases


Alyssa Morris
Communications & Marketing Manager